Skip to content

Look What I Made! My First Ever Patchwork Quilt

January 13, 2013

Those of you who read my blog regularly might remember the 725 little fabric squares I cut out back in August 2011 out of my scrap fabric stash. Well, finally, eighteen months later, after many hours bent over my sewing machine and many many more procrastinating and putting off finishing it, I now have a large double bed size, beautiful, snuggly, cozy quilt! I absolutely love how it turned out, much better than I imagined it would, and it doesn’t even matter that not all the seams match up and there is no fancy quilting on it, it’s mine, it’s finished, and it’s beautiful!

725 squares from my scrap fabric stash

Sticking the quilt backing to the carpet with masking tape

The batting and the top layer are put on top of the backing and all three layers are pinned together. I worked in a spiral from the centre out while pinning, to get all three layers smooth.

I rolled the whole thing up to keep it all together while I quilted from one end to the other.

Stitching in the ditch

All finished

A sentimental embroidered square

I love this!

I have the quilting itch now and can’t wait to make another one, I should have enough scraps to make a smaller one for keeping us warm when we’re on the sofa. I am really pleased with this one, and Mr. B really likes it too, so I am truly inspired! I’m also really glad that I managed to make most of it out of scraps, I had to buy the wadding especially, and I bought a flat sheet to use as the backing, but I even made the binding from scraps of fabric. Even though it took me almost 16 months of procrastination and maybe two months of work, it was definitely worth the wait!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. racheltripp permalink
    January 13, 2013 7:58 pm

    Wow wow wow! This is fabulous, and very inspiring. I want to make about five quilts, but my progress so far is limited to cutting out about six squares. *blush*

  2. January 13, 2013 8:00 pm

    That is awesome. I am terrible at quilting, & can never get the seams to match up. Well done!

  3. January 14, 2013 2:18 pm

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! It’s so satisfying too isn’t it? Well done for getting it complete – definitely worth the wait :)

  4. Sonia permalink
    January 14, 2013 7:53 pm

    What a fabulous quilt, so cosy! I like that the seams don’t match up. Quilts are meant to be unique. Great stuff!

  5. January 15, 2013 11:10 am

    It looks gorgeous! I am in the early stages of my first quilt – luckily it’s toddler size and not double bed size!!

  6. January 15, 2013 4:08 pm

    its fabulous, well done!

  7. Lou permalink
    January 15, 2013 7:23 pm

    Oh that’s so lovely :) I have a fabric stash and a regular intention to quilt that never comes to pass but this is great inspiration!

  8. January 16, 2013 2:08 pm

    Love the non-matching up seams and the general embracing of scraps and just going for it- well done! Quilting is indeed rather addictive, watch out!

  9. January 17, 2013 4:46 pm

    That is lovely, looks very pretty! And no amount of procrastination changes that, in fact probably makes it more worthwhile: )

  10. Ellen permalink
    January 18, 2013 8:29 pm

    Yay! Great job. What a massive project you completed machine quilting it! So glad you stopped by http://nouveaustitch.com today. Do come back!

Trackbacks

  1. Patchwork Quilt Inspiration | so resourceful
  2. Planning my Next Patchwork Quilt | so resourceful

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

