Skip to content

Astonishing Splashes of Colour: Violet

January 15, 2012

collection of vintage bottles

A lovely recipe for violet jelly
my favourite fruit in the whole world

enchanted entranceway

violet door knob
velvet sofa
another purple velvet sofa

I love the stripes

purple striped vintage tea towels

I wish I knew where this was
purple dendrobium orchid

violet backed starling
Amethyst ring from Janish Jewels on Etsy
Sapphire ring by kateszabone on Etsy
violet earings by Botny on Etsy
lavender macarons
violet macarons
purple velvet cake
19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 2:26 pm

    All so beautiful – now I understand why these are my mum´s favourite colours!

  2. January 15, 2012 5:09 pm

    Wow! What a feast of photos. So many inspiring images. I have a lot of purples in my house

  3. butterflyexperience permalink
    January 16, 2012 7:09 am

    Beautiful x

  4. January 16, 2012 9:23 am

    :O I LOVE figs. yum.

  5. January 16, 2012 11:08 am

    Astonishing! it makes me miss spring!

  6. January 16, 2012 4:28 pm

    My favourite colours. I LOVE that door knob, and the cake, and everything! Incidentally, have you ever tried baking with lavender? My friend makes cakes and sprinkles lavender over the icing, they are lovely. Also love lavender chocolate.

    • January 16, 2012 4:32 pm

      Hi Dilly! I haven’t tried baking with lavender yet, but regularly have the intention of doing so. I did infuse some caster sugar with lavender once and we sprinkled it on pancakes, that was nice.
      I’m sorry I haven’t managed to get to the post office yet, but I promise I will tomorrow!

  7. January 16, 2012 6:02 pm

    Wow – stunning! Violet is such a happy colour….what I mean is, that it never ceases to put a smile on my face. Bellissima!

  8. January 17, 2012 6:20 am

    Simply gorgeous shades! Thanks for the eye candy… :)

  9. January 18, 2012 11:36 am

    What stunning, stunning pictures! Definitely my favourite colour.

    Can I please ask you a question, though? This is a bit cheeky, so I apologise in advance.

    How does it work if you want to use other people’s pictures on your blog? I’m asking as a would-be fellow blogger, rather than in an interrogatory way! I notice some bloggers are obviously using, say, pinterest to find pictures, and posting them with links to the source. Have you found a good source of advice on what is a legitimate use and what isn’t?

    • January 18, 2012 6:24 pm

      Hi Rachel,
      I think, as far as I understand it, as long as you either credit the source of the images or link to the source of the images, then it is ok, so as long as you are not pretending that the images are yours, but rather just showing people them and showing them where they can see the source of the photo or the name of the website the image comes from it is ok. This is why a lot pf people use Pinterest as a place to store images from other blogs that they want to reblog, as Pinterest links to the source of the image, making it easy for you to credit the source or link the source once you re-blog it,Hope that makes sense! I come across blogs that have my images in them from time to time, but they always include a link back to my blog or include the name of my blog as the source, so as far as I’m concerned, that is fine and I am happy for that to happen.

  10. January 21, 2012 12:07 am

    My favorite color is purple, so this post really drew me in (although ALL your color posts have done that!). I’d love to get some of the purple glass jars and that purple doorknob has me reminiscing of the house I spent my first 5 years in, plus lived in again from 20-25. Every interior door had those beautiful glass knobs, although they were clear not violet.

    • January 21, 2012 9:43 am

      Shell, I love glass door knobs, whatever colour they are! The house you used to live in sounds lovely if all the knobs were beautiful clear glass ones.

      • January 21, 2012 6:29 pm

        It was a good home. built in 1943 I think my grandma said. It was in the family from 1947 until 2003 when grandma finally sold it. 900 sq ft and 6 doors with those gorgeous knobs.

  11. February 11, 2012 11:29 pm

    Purple is one of my favourite colours, so beautiful!

  12. May 15, 2013 10:01 am

    I’m a writer from Arnhem, Netherlands just submitted this to a coworker who is doing some sort of research on this. And she actually ordered me lunch simply because I came across it for her… lol. Actually, allow me to paraphrase this…. Thanks for the meal… But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

Trackbacks

  1. A child is for 18 years, a ring is for eternity! « Dilly Tante

Leave a Reply

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

