Skip to content

Project Forty Eight: I did Something New Today, I Made a Sundress!

May 4, 2011

Yes, after my first forray into dressmaking (skirtmaking?), I persuaded myself it was time to actually attempt to make a dress, something I have wanted to do for a very long time. After much deliberation I came to the conclusion that a simple sundress would be a good design to start with, and it turns out it’s not as hard as I always thought. Easier, in fact, than making wallets!

I found this great tutorial on craftster, which was quite straightforward to follow and which I adapted slightly to my preferences.  I bought some lovely duck egg green fabric with small white polka dots from an online place that I cannot remember the name of now, but it is really lovely fabric, with a nice vintage feel to it. I made much thinner straps than in the tutorial and used pale pink bias binding around the top of the dress instead of hemming it. I also added some vintage lace to the bottom hem.

I feel inspired! Ready to attempt more dressmaking, break free from the shackles of Primani this year! Oh the possibilities that await! If anyone else feels inspired, I highly recommend the tutorial I followed, which can be found here. And yes, I know, the dress needs an iron, but I was too excited to iron it before photographing it. Ironing can wait. Ironing can always wait.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Narcisse permalink
    May 4, 2011 7:42 am

    Absolutely beautiful!
    Well done and thanks for the tutorial link, I will have a go myself too ))
    You inspire me so much!

  2. May 4, 2011 2:21 pm

    Nooooooooo! Ironing can never wait when you are dressmaking, it is your secret weapon and will make your dress look even lovelier than it does. Well done on your first really grown up make, it looks really fab.

    • May 4, 2011 3:38 pm

      Thank you RosMadeMe, don’t worry, I promise I will iron it before I wear it out in public 🙂

  3. May 4, 2011 10:13 pm

    wow, I’m really impressed. That is gorgeous on you, a really pretty dress.

  4. Sonia permalink
    May 5, 2011 8:10 pm

    Gorgeous dress in a fab fabric! Well done!

  5. December 31, 2011 7:05 am

    You look lovely! Think I’m going to have to make a few of these too 🙂

Leave a comment

K&Q Vintage Crockery

An exquisite collection of high quality vintage crockery for hire.

craftyteuchter

Random musings of a Highland mum and crafter

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

gamesmadeeasy

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Year on the Make

365 days of stitching, knitting and creating

Party Spanner

I like to party (I am a spanner)